There are various faculties and institutes under Tribhuvan University. Institute of Engineering is one of the institute of Tribhuvan University. Under the Institute of Engineering, there are four constituent campuses and ten private colleges. Pulchok campus is the central campus of the Institute of Engineering. It was established in 1972 (2029 B.S) as one of the constituent campuses of the Institute of Engineering and is located at Pulchok in Lalitpur city. Initially, it was started to produce business level manpower to meet the requirement of the nation in the field of engineering. The Pulchouk campus offered diploma level (intermediate level with a three-year duration) in various engineering disciplines since 1973 (2030 BS), but diploma level courses are now phased out. The Pulchowk campus has been offering undergraduate degree courses in various engineering disciplines since 1984 (2041 BS).

By 1984 the Pulchowk campus was involved in the production of low to medium engineering manpower in the fields of civil engineering, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, mechanical engineering and architecture. Gradually realizing the national and global demand, the country gradually felt the need for engineering manpower at a high level. Consequently, a four-year undergraduate level course in civil engineering was started in 1984. Gradually Bachelor in Electrical Engineering and Bachelor in Electronics Engineering were started from 1994 (2051 BS), Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering and Architecture were started from 1995 (2052). BS in Computer Engineering) and Graduation was started from 1998 (2055 BS). All these Bachelors in Engineering (BE) programs were first introduced in Nepal.

Currently, Pulcock Campus offers undergraduate courses, master’s courses and PhD programs in various fields of engineering. The campus is equipped with necessary laboratories with a large force of faculties and staff, which has become the center of excellence of engineering education in Nepal.

Pulchowk Campus has been awarded the “Best Constitution Campus Award” by the Government of Nepal, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology in 2019.